Blogs are Stupid to Write

So, this is what I think – blogs are pretty stupid to write.  It’s no damn fun.  It’s time consuming.  Too many words.  You have stick all those words together so it  makes sense.  I’m just not a blogger.

You tell 'em I'm comin'! And Crazy Town's comin' with me!

Me thinking about blogging.

I don’t even keep up with any blogs except this one.  But for the past year or so, I’ve been checking this page hoping for some new content and there never is any.  A very big disappointment, since I am dying to find out how the movie is going.  Of course, I know how it’s going because I’m making it, but it’s always more fun to read about it.  Especially if there’s pictures.

It’s pretty much awesome when you read about your own movie online.  Makes you feel like you’re making a real movie and it really motivates you to keep going.  Which, of course, is the hardest thing to do.  Most people fail at this simply because they give up.  You get your ass beat one too many times and eventually you throw in the towel.  Here’s a clip of Rocky Balboa saying it better.  Skip the part where he’s talking about holding a baby or something dumb like that.  Not sure why that’s in there.  I guess this is from a movie or something.

(The irony here is that years earlier, if Rocky had thrown in the towel instead of “moving forward” he could have saved his best friend Apollo Creed from his tragic death in the ring at the hands of Ivan Drago, but we won’t debate that here.)

You keep moving forward.  And sometimes there are obstacles in your path and sometimes you stumble around haplessly like a doofus without getting anything done while people wait for your Bigfoot movie to come out.  But you keep moving forward.   2013 wasn’t when we were originally looking at as a release date, but it’s where we are now.  And there are any number of reasons it’s been delayed, not the least of which is that making a movie is really hard.  Something that is so important for filmmakers to have is a schedule with strict deadlines and a willingness to abandon some of the ideas and elements that you’re in love with in order to get it finished.  I don’t have that willingness.  I could get it, but I don’t want it right now.  Unfortunately, I’m very stubborn sometimes, so I don’t even bother arguing with me about it.

I believe it what I’m doing and the way I’m doing it, but I also know I took 9 years once to make a 20 minute movie.  So, there’s occasionally this nagging feeling in my brain that I’m heading down the same path with this film. This year was certainly not as productive as I would have hoped – I was diagnosed with sleep apnea and spent the first 6 months of the year trying to feel normal again.  During that time, I wasn’t able to concentrate on anything other than my day-job and much of the time even doing just that felt like too much.

By June, I was feeling good again, and I got a lot of work done in the summer.  But then in September, I had a hard drive crash where I ended up losing a bit of work.  I’ve learned to back stuff up over the years after having hard drives crash on every project I do ever, but I hadn’t backed up in a while.  I didn’t lose too much, just enough to be a total motivation buzzkill.  I’m still putting some of the pieces back together.

I’ve stepped up the back-upping.  I got automated backups going all over the place, using multiple hard drives, optical discs, and cloud storage.  This is something I’ve always sucked at, thought I fixed, and then realized that I still sucked at it, so I fixed it more.  I think.

Kind of like blog writing.  I sucked at that, worked hard (not at all, really) at writing consistant updates in a timely fashion and then stopped cause blogging totally sucks.   But I’m going to try that again, while I try to build up the momentum again and get this thing done in a timely fashion.  If you work at it hard enough and never give up no matter how many times you stumble, you can become the person you’ve always wanted to be and change anything you want about yourself.  Will I actually change this?  I don’t know.  I really have no control over anything I do, so the best we can do is cross our fingers and hope. In the meantime, I’ll try to distract you with the following still from the movie.

-Tyler

(P.S. Thanks for reading this nonsense and for your interest in our film.  We’re working hard to see that it not only gets finished, but kicks serious ass.)

Real-life Bigfoot researcher Wayne Burton watches his partner Dallas Gilbert talk on the phone in a riveting scene from Monkey Production's The Legend of Grassman.

One response to “Blogs are Stupid to Write

  1. Pingback: The Beginning: Part 2 of 2 – That’s not a Bigfoot movie. THIS is a Bigfoot movie. | The Grassman – Movie Production Blog

Leave a Reply

