Director’s Journal #5

Sunday April 26, 2009

We had a production meeting/facecasting session. Had a few things to go over. Dennis and I stressed the importance of being healthy when we shoot in June. I told everybody to do 30 minutes of physical activity 5 days a week, whether it is walking, running, or playing Wii. This shoot is going to be strenuous.

Cast & Crew gets a talkin to

Cast & Crew gets a talkin to

Had to run out and get petroleum jelly for the facecasting. Got lost. Finally found some at a UDF with a ridiculously slow cashier who was extra friendly to everyone except me. If I have to wait in line that long, I should get two scoops of sugar just like everyone else.

Rachel showed me the padding she has planned for Jory’s enormous bigfoot ass. It should look a lot like the Patterson monster.

Enormous ass or genius thespian?

Enormous bigfoot ass

We recast Jory’s face. Everything seemed to be second nature and I was starting to feel like a face casting pro when our first attempt with the alginate dried up on his face before we could finished. I used water that was too warm. Idiot. Luckily, I had ordered more alginate. We tried again. This time we only did the area around his eyes and nose.

"I can't believe Jory fell for this a second time! Quick! Get it up his nose!"

"I can't believe Jory fell for this a second time! Quick! Get it up his nose!"

Our problem last time, I think was that we used too much plaster and it caved the mold in before it dried. We used a lot less this time.

Just when I thought we had screwed it up again, we got our positive that seems like a pretty good facsimile of Jory. With big plaster boogs. I have to get better at doing the area around the nose. Thinking about creating a test latex mask from the mold, so I can fit it on Jory’s face and see if it the cast actually worked. Don’t want to waste latex, though.

Boogerfoot

Boogerfoot

Monday, April 27, 2009

Did a list of most of what I’ve spent so far. The total was $640. That’s more than half what we had intended to spend on the whole thing. And we have very little to show for it. Noticed the truck rental place charged me twice as much as they said. Hopefully, that’s just the deposit. Need to follow up with that.

Realized I told everybody to do 30 minutes of physical activity a day. Idiot! Now, if I don’t do it, I’m not just fat and lazy, but a shitty leader. I went for a run. I felt strong. But eventually, I could feel pain in my legs starting – the bad kind. Can’t get injured. Had to walk the rest of the way. Overall, though, not bad for a first time run.

Idiot!

Idiot!

One response to “Director’s Journal #5

  1. Pingback: Drafting (Part 3) – Out Of Darkness Arises a Hero and a Really Awesome Draft. | The Grassman – Movie Production Blog

Leave a Reply

