Director’s Journal #4

April 25, 2009

Had made plans to drive up somewhere near Columbus, Ohio and pick up the perfect shed for our movie and bring it back in a Uhaul truck. Didn’t realize Uhaul, in addition to their rental fee, charges by the mile. This would put the cost of the shed at over $400… almost half our planned budget. After a quick freak out, I called Ryder and was able to get a truck for $70. Stephan and I got on the road about 11:30am for the long drive.

I think I just went 10-100.

I think I just went 10-100.

Around 2:15, we arrived at the farmhouse where we were greeted by Mike and his dad, Brent. Brent told us he thought we were gonna flake on him. He asked us what we needed the shed for. I told him a low-budget film. Mike excitedly exclaimed, “I told you that’s what he said!” A lot of people get excited when we tell them we’re doing a movie. This is no doubt due to the fact that no one realizes what jackasses we are.

We drove over to the sheds that we had previously discussed. Brent and Mike had offered us the original shed for $75 and a second shed for only $25. The first shed was fine. As I counted out Bret’s payment, I realized, while I had lots of money with me, I didn’t have exact change. They didn’t have change either. Bret told me $60 would be fine. I wanted to honor our agreement. I paid him $74. It was as close as I could get with the change I had. He was cool with it. I felt like a douche for not having exact change. Later, I would feel like a douche for not accepting his offer of $60. We’re making a movie here and we need every penny.

How much would you pay?

How much would you pay?

Tearing down the shed (kind of a small barn at 15 ‘ x 15’) seemed a ridiculous amount of work at the time.  Once we got the roof off, which involved ladders and crow bars and ninja tactics, it started moving quicker. Brent and Mike sawed the barn walls into panels and Stephan and I took them to the truck.  They were heavy.  It sucked.  And I had no strength left after my earlier ninja tactics. Probably would have helped if we had stopped for lunch first.

Brent and Mike had a funny little dog named Gracie who, on two occasions, found a piece of dead animal in the barn rubble and ran off with it to bury it. Dogs is crazy.

We eventually had the truck loaded as full as we could get it and were ready to be on our way.  Brent told me his grandkids were excited to see our movie and asked if they could get a copy. I told him it would be a while before it was completed, but that we would be in touch.

"...no one realizes what jackasses we are."

"...no one realizes what jackasses we are."

Stephan and I headed back for Cincinnati, hitting up Taco Bell on the way. I love Taco Bell. By the time we got to Stephan’s house, we were exhausted and it took forever for us to drag all the wood to the backyard. Aftwerwards, he let me see the dead coyote he is working on. He wasn’t too far along, but… Sweet.

Gots to be careful 'round these here parts... there's coyotes. Zombie coyotes. And they stink.

Gots to be careful 'round these here parts... there's coyotes. Zombie coyotes. And they stink.

2 responses to “Director’s Journal #4

  1. I found that it turned out to be less expensive to purchase a used box truck from Uhaul. My husband and I moved across country last year. We purchased on of there 26ft trucks and were able to take our time with the move and use the truck for storage for a bit. When we were done using it, we sold it and made a $500 profit!!! It was probably the best purchase we have made!

  2. Pingback: Drafting (Part 3) – Out Of Darkness Arises a Hero and a Really Awesome Draft. | The Grassman – Movie Production Blog

Leave a Reply

